Talk

Advanced search

Help! Tips needed on how to actually get some work done

(6 Posts)
KleineMaus Sun 06-Jul-08 21:48:06

I work as a freelance editor/proofreader and am only attempting to get about 10-15 hrs done per week. I don't have any childcare and even fitting in a couple of hours per day is really hard at the moment. DS is almost 2 and is going through a phase where he won't go to sleep until after 10pm, after which I'm too tired to get work I need to concentrate hard on done. It's been suggested to me that I need to cut out his afternoon nap in order to get him down to sleep at a sensible time at night, but this is when I would normally get a lot of my work done, and it's not working! He's only getting a short sleep in the day and still not going to sleep at night, which doesn't leave me much time to work, or do anything else for that matter.Does anyone have any tips?

TantieTowie Mon 07-Jul-08 09:56:54

Maybe he's teething - my DS is awake late when his teeth are coming through, and there's not much to be done about it.

IME, it's really hard to keep any realistic kind of work going in nap time and after bedtime unless they sleep really reliably. Your most obvious free possibility is to work weekends and rope in your partner or other willing volunteer etc for childcare.

Otherwise, paid-for childcare is the only way. 'Only' 10-15 hours a week is between one and two working days, and isn't that easy just to slot in here and there.

PussinWellies Mon 07-Jul-08 10:43:22

Would second a childminder. I used to dump my oldest for the mornings, retrieve him nicely exhausted by the company of other toddlers, feed him a quick lunch and usually get him to nap for at least an hour after that. Works best if the childmindr is very local, of course, so the child can't sleep off the after-effects in the car on the way home...

Good luck!

KleineMaus Mon 07-Jul-08 14:59:03