Talk

Advanced search

struggling to pick up work - any ideas?

(8 Posts)
Stargazing Tue 01-Jul-08 20:23:36

I'm a journalist, write mostly lifestyle-y stuff (parenting, weddings, food, travel, homes & interiors) ... kept up work to some extent when dd was born in 2006 but started to phase down when I discovered I wa pg with ds just 7 months later ... ds is now 7 months old and I'm trying to pick up some work again, but in the time I've been out of the loop, 2 of the mags I wrote for have closed, 1 no longer uses freelancers, others have different/ new editorial staff who clearly have their own stable of regular freelancers .. the body of work I've built up doesn't seem to be opening any doors for me and I'm having a slight panic!!
the thing is, I'm a fulltime mum by day and that's not going to change .. all of my writing gets done at night. It's not crucial that I write for mags but I can't seem to think of what else I could turn my pen to - but can't seem to shake this nagging feeling that there's something I'm missing. Any ideas appreciated!!

Elasticwoman Tue 01-Jul-08 21:29:22

What about a novel? Worked for Rachel Cusk.

NK7b5e9de3X114f0ef796c Tue 01-Jul-08 21:42:39

HI stargazing
same here but im an accountant but my dd2 is now nearly 1 and i am struggling as my original contacts have gone so will watch with interest

oranges Tue 01-Jul-08 21:45:10

you need to get childcare a few hours a week in the day and really hit the phones to re-introduce yourself, pitch ideas directly. think times are very toght for freelancers at the moment, and it 's hard to get by by only working in the evenings.

sophy Thu 03-Jul-08 14:37:38

Try your local paper?

JenniPenni Thu 17-Jul-08 02:18:11

Hi there, I come from two angles. I childmind Mon to Thurs and have a mum who is a freelancer (medical editor), and I freelance as a graphic designer on a Friday.