Talk

Advanced search

Working from home - with a big dog

(9 Posts)
PermaShattered Fri 03-Mar-17 10:12:07

If you work from home and have a big dog, what's your routine? Does it work well? I'm a freelance journalist and very busy, and work during school hours and a little in the evening. As of 2 days ago, we have an amazing rescue dog, a 2 yr old golden retriever. I'm used to working between 9am and 2pm with coffee/lunch break, the odd shopping trip and the usual. I usual clock up 4 hours or so a day, at least. But with factoring in a good half hour walk in the mornings, and other potential distractions, I'd be really interested to know how this works for you.

Here's a pic of my Peggy.

CMOTDibbler Fri 03-Mar-17 10:21:16

I wfh (not freelance) and have two big dogs and a foster puppy. Dogs go out with me before I start work, then my 'lunch break' is taking them out again, out again after work. I don't do shopping trips in my work time, unless its just taking in an Ocado delivery

iseenodust Fri 03-Mar-17 10:25:26

Husband walked dog just for call of nature before he went to work at 6.45am. I took for proper walk after DS dropped at school. As I worked he would sleep/sit with me or if sunny would leave back door open and he would mooch in and out. Play in the garden at lunchtime. Bit more work after lunch. Short walk, maybe to village post office. Off to shops/collect DS/chores. DS play with dog. Dog follow me all round kitchen while make dinner grin. Second proper walk early evening.

Hoppinggreen Fri 03-Mar-17 14:48:55

I also work mostly from home - coincidentally with a large dog that looks very much like yours!!!
My day looks a bit like this
7 am get up and let dog into garden for a wee while yelling at the kids to get up.
8.30 school run
9am 20-30 minute dog walk
10-12 work ( if I have to see my clients I do it then, at the moment they are all local)
12-2 work from home if not already doing so
2.30 30 minute dog walk
3 o'clock school run