Talk

Advanced search

Website designer: advice on training to become one

(7 Posts)
winkywinkola Sun 15-Jan-17 11:16:16

I'm very interested in this area. In fact, I'm interested in learning about design full stop.

But I'm 47 years old. I have a part time job and am running around after 4 dcs.

Should I study at a local college? Aim for a part time degree?

Or just carry on dreaming?

TrollTheRespawnJeremy Sun 15-Jan-17 22:42:24

Do you have any computer experience? Are you planning on building websites? Have you ever run a website? Any graphics experience?

Just trying to figure out the best starting point for you!

winkywinkola Mon 16-Jan-17 19:04:51

I have zero experience of any of the things you've listed.

I've project managed direct marketing campaigns which had an element of design in them but I was responsible for making sure the brief was fulfilled rather than the creative.

TrollTheRespawnJeremy Mon 16-Jan-17 21:57:45

Ok, well I think you could do with a course at college- whether it be night or day in graphics. Without it I think you're always going to struggle. It is quite a fun/interesting course to do though so that is good!

olderthanyouthink Sat 21-Jan-17 22:22:28

You could do a course on it, in person or online. I learned web development with an online program and I know they have design content too.

BTW you'll need to know some web development too, it's a little annoying being handed a design which you know won't work on web/ certain browsers/devices.

yeOldeTrout Sat 21-Jan-17 23:07:55

A lot of small charities are desperate for volunteers to run their websites.
They typically use something like WordPress: it's a WYSIWIG system (like Word is for writing documents).
It's a way for you to get on the learning curve for what types of software is used.

sportinguista Tue 31-Jan-17 12:29:56