Pension schemes for the self-employed

(19 Posts)
Jokat Sun 20-Nov-16 11:22:16

Hi there,
I work as a tutor with special needs children on a 1-2-1 basis, both in home and in school settings. I have asked around amongst colleagues and my consultants, but no one knows of a pension scheme, people just save up and stick it into an account. I have looked online but can only find schemes for employed people. Does anyone know of a provider for self employed people?

VeganCow Mon 21-Nov-16 09:34:12

Good question wondered this myself. This topic seems so quiet, could you post this in chat? It seems there are more than average self employed people on mumsnet, so should be answered over in chat.

Jokat Mon 21-Nov-16 12:48:14

Hi VeganCow, I have done already and there were a few helpful responses. I don't know how to link, but if you search in chat for this title:

Self-employed in need of pension scheme

you'll find it.

DoubleCarrick Mon 21-Nov-16 12:50:16

We have the same job, op smile

Both dh and I are self employed. Personally, we are overpaying on our mortgage and treating that as our pension contributions. Can't think of any way around it.

walde Mon 21-Nov-16 13:14:37

I am self employed and have a personal pension which I set up through a financial advisor. The government put in £20 for every £80 you put in.

atticusclaw2 Mon 21-Nov-16 13:17:06

I'm confused. You just need a personal pension.

GrumpyOldBag Mon 21-Nov-16 19:29:14

what atticus said.

I'm self-employed and have been paying into a personal pension for years. Loads of choice available.

I'm pretty sure I don't get £20 from the government - but I get tax relief (as everyone does).

GrumpyOldBag Mon 21-Nov-16 19:30:48

www.pensionsadvisoryservice.org.uk/about-pensions/pensions-basics/contract-based-schemes/personal-pensions

"You can have a personal pension if you're employed, self-employed or not working."

Flanderspigeonmurderer Mon 21-Nov-16 19:32:27