Talk

Advanced search

Any wed developer/wordpress freelancers out there?

(11 Posts)
werenotreallyhere Thu 14-Apr-16 11:18:12

Hi, I was a java web developer/programmer/analyst for 11 years, the last 7 for an investment bank. I'm keen to get back working after a few years home with the kids and was looking at retraining into wordpress/php/css etc and hoping to grab some freelance work at home and build that up. Does anyone have tips and hints on the best way to find work/which websites to use to find work etc and how to price up etc? It would be really appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

werenotreallyhere Thu 14-Apr-16 11:19:03

Gah, typo in the title...sorry! web developer obviously...

werenotreallyhere Tue 19-Apr-16 13:47:33

bump just in case.....

MugsLife Tue 19-Apr-16 22:26:48

I'm a designer/developer. I got a great ongoing freelance contract from powertofly.com

werenotreallyhere Wed 20-Apr-16 10:07:28

HI Mugslife, that sounds really interesting, could you tell me a bit more about how it all works? Thanks

lljkk Wed 20-Apr-16 10:31:05

DH is an Ap developer, I dunno what he writes in. Not Java, not perl, um.... some php. Wordpress is below him, I suppose, but he tells me how to do wordpress.

Honestly, you'll hate this, he gets work mostly via word of mouth, friend of a friend. One job was advertised on MN, actually. Another job he got from chatting to someone during our children's swim lessons. He has own website but that's just a token thing. DH only wants to work PT, spends most his days on crazy-long cycle rides.

To learn CSS;s you could do worse than volunteer for 6 months to help a load of charities with their websites; they are all different CSSs, some custom-written, and will give you good feel for what's out there.

We are outside London & I think typical per day rates here in the sticks are £200-£300. We know a local (computer) graphics designer charging £400/day & has too much work on, mind, that's a better gig if you can.