Talk

Advanced search

Illustration & graphic design

(10 Posts)
Unpopular Wed 10-Feb-16 19:24:43

I'm an illustrator / designer who makes money by selling my work online. I do well but am finding myself becoming less and less creative as I seem spend so much time making & posting. I'm not sure if it's right for me.
Looking for ideas of how to do something else with illustrations & design that allows me to get back to being more creativity. Anyone here on the industry?

P. S please ignore my ridiculous username I can't change it!

TomTomKitten Sun 14-Feb-16 15:15:32

Design then get things printed and sell?

I know a lady who runs a stationery company designing cards, paper, tags, mugs, etc.

Unpopular Sun 14-Feb-16 16:26:47

Thanks TomTom. Does she use freelancers?

thisproofseverything Mon 15-Feb-16 08:12:45

Have you thought about working with publishers rather than printing/selling your own work? Depending on what you're sales are like now, you could make more or less, I don't know, but you will most definitely not have to post, pack and deal with customer service.

Have you thought about trying to get an agent? They do take a fairly large commission but your workflow and output should improve if they take you on.

sportinguista Wed 17-Feb-16 12:32:09

I am an illustrator and designer, one of the things I'm looking to do is do stock illustrations which could be sold to companies like iStock etc which hopefully will keep my creative side going. Also many greetings card companies are looking for illustrators with various styles and there may be publishers who will comission book covers etc.

I agree that the day-to-day of the design industry is very marketing led and commercial which isn't hugely creative and pretty but there are projects out there which are a bit more creative, sometimes I do a quick google to see what's out there and have got some clients on the creative side from that.

thisproofseverything Thu 18-Feb-16 08:45:59