Talk

Advanced search

Invoice dates: Sorry to ask such a boring question, but I'm CONFUSED. So grateful for any help!

(15 Posts)
Treeleaf Fri 16-Oct-15 15:50:53

I am a self-employed graphic designer. Very small fry and just getting started.
I have been writing invoices based (I thought) on HMRC guidelines, but I'm now worried I've been doing it wrong. My question concerns dating of invoices. I thought that the invoice had to have:
a) invoice date, and
b) supply date.

For a) I've been writing the date that I sent the invoice, and for b) the date that the work was handed over to the client or, in the case of a meeting, the date of the meeting.

But now I've been asked by a client to invoice them before the work is complete. Also was told that the invoice date might mean something else. So I have a couple of questions for you lovely, brilliant people:

- Have I been doing the 'invoice date' right?
- What should I put for the 'supply date' if the service won't be delivered for another month or two?
- Is it ok to demand payment (as I always do) within 30 days if the service won't be delivered until after that?
- When the invoice includes several items (eg meetings, drafts, final product), does each one have to be dated separately?

I have googled this, but everything I found relates to VAT issues and I am not VAT registered so I don't think it's relevant.

Thank you, thank you!

CocktailQueen Fri 16-Oct-15 16:00:12

On mine I just put the date I send the invoice.

Why do you need a supply date?

If you're being asked to invoice before the work is complete, then, yes I think you're within your rights to ask for payment within your usual terms.

If my invoice includes several things, I usually put the date I did each item of work, but I don't think there is any legal need to do this.

For a long project I sometimes invoice for 50-% up front then 50% after I have finished - could you do this?
hth.

Treeleaf Fri 16-Oct-15 18:04:43

Oh thank you CQ.