Talk

Advanced search

Bookkeeping

(12 Posts)
penni00 Sun 19-Jul-15 00:36:10

I am thinking of doing the ICB bookkeeping course. ICB say you need level 3 (used to be level 2) which gives you the letters AICB to be a self employed bookkeeper. Has anyone successfully ran a bookkeeping business after this course having achieved this level 3 AICB status having had no previous actual bookkeeping work background. Or is the course alone not sufficient for you to competently run a bookkeepiing business, I mean in actual reality do you need lots of hands on work experience aswell as the course before going it alone doing your own bookkeeping business. Any comments gratefully received

emma123456 Mon 20-Jul-15 20:45:53

Yes, get some work experience. I have struggled to find a good self employed book keeper who can work independently. I'm a self employed accountant and desperately need a decent book keeper but wouldn't consider someone with no practical experience. I'd rather go down the apprentice route if I am going to train someone.

penni00 Tue 21-Jul-15 08:31:26

Thanks for your reply. I just have a feeling that it may be hard to get an employer to take me on when I have no experience...............

penni00 Tue 21-Jul-15 08:37:18

So how do I get the experience, I wonder. I assume even charities looking for voluntary bookkeepers would want experienced bookkeepers. I ve contacted local accountants regarding work experience but that s all been negative

ClashCityRocker Tue 21-Jul-15 08:48:47

Yes, it can be a bit of a catch 22 situation - you can't get a job, even with the quals, due to lack of experience, but you can't get experience without doing the job.