Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

New business need help!

(6 Posts)
ChrissyT30 Sat 18-Jul-15 20:25:11

Hi, I'm a newly qualified makeup artist and I need some help on how to get started up and getting some clients in through the door! Anyone have any suggestions... money is SERIOUSLY tight atm, smile My business is called Simply Beautiful - Makeup and Beauty and I'm in Cwmbran!

lubeybooby Sat 18-Jul-15 20:30:18

Get yourself set up with a profile on purpleport, with some good examples of your work. if you don't have any yet, then get in on some TF shoots basically you work free, but get to use the professional pics taken as your examples. If you've already done that then you're all set.

Oh make sure your website SEO is all set up too

NotBeingRudeBut Sat 18-Jul-15 20:40:46

Yep make sure you have an up to date website and promote yourself loads on twitter, Facebook and Instagram (post lots of photos of your work). Even if no real clients yet post tutorials and do friends make up so you can post the photos.

Make yourself contactable by email and mobile.

Best of luck and good on you for setting up your own business.

Never underestimate the power of social media marketing! Get your business Facebook and Twitter pages up and running and use them as frequently as you can. Twitter can be particularly good for building contacts and really getting your name around (I'm a jewellery designer and silversmith -self taught- and am followed by, and have conversations potentially leading somewhere, TV presenters, magazine editors, management of retail jewellers, galleries and even had a fashion designer from New York stumble across me!), along with potential clients. Facebook moreso for reaching potential clients in your local area.

Link the two to your website and promote that way too.