Talk

Advanced search

Do you like working from home?

(16 Posts)
FauxFox Tue 14-Jul-15 10:36:25

I freelance from home because it's good for the family/kids etc and usually I don't mind it but every so often I get really down about it - I don't see clients, hardly ever call them, all communication is via email and it's just lonely.

I'm not good at self motivating and much prefer working in a team and having a boss to impress.

I am not in a position to get a job as part time work would pay less than I can earn flexibly from home and a full time job would not fit around family commitments.

Feel a bit trapped by it all tbh.

Contraryish Tue 14-Jul-15 10:42:27

I love working from home for precisely the reasons you don't. Don't have to call people, don't have to answer to a boss. But I'm naturally a bit of a loner and I do have my husband working at home too.

MrsMargoLeadbetter Tue 14-Jul-15 11:18:56

I hear your Faux. I purposely book meetings and attending networking meetings to get out. I also volunteered to become a trustee of a charity as it would involve meetings/seeing people.

Can you ring clients instead of emailing sometimes? You might need to be proactive.

When I first started out I attended a few local women's networking meetings and I got the sense the main motivation of attending was to develop a support network rather than selling. Could you attend one of those?

I have also tried to build up a network of people I share some stuff with.

I also found a 'buddy' via this board.

I think you need to create the opportunities....

FauxFox Tue 14-Jul-15 11:40:47

You're probably right Margo - I can't really call clients as the reason they like my work is that i'm proactive and don't need direction/support to generate the stuff they need. They are super busy and it's my job to reduce demands on their time really...