Calling all Journalists!

(7 Posts)
Metimewoohoo Thu 18-Jun-15 22:06:06

I have a degree in English and my ambition was to become a Journalist. Unfortunately circumstances worked against me, so that dream was obliterated for a while.

Now however I am in a better position and would really like advice on starting a career in Journalism. What is the best route to take, considering I have no experience?

I would be so appreciative of any advice or offers of work experience.

MyRealNamesBernard Sat 20-Jun-15 22:37:22

Look into doing an NCTJ-accredited course and get lots of work experience/internships under your belt. That was how I became a journo (although it was 15 years ago). If you haven't got one already, start a blog so people can see evidence of your writing style. Blogging is also a great way of developing your writing and will give you something to show an editor when you apply for internships.

It's a wonderful career. Badly paid and hard work - but wonderful all the same. It's also ridiculously competitive, as I am sure you are aware. So, be prepared for rejections - or even being completely ignored - when you apply for work experience. Keep plugging away, though, and something will come up. One of the skills of a hack is persistence, so you will be demonstrating your commitment and determination if nothing else.

Check out Indeed.com (or might be co.uk) which often has internships. Journalism.co.uk does too. I've heard opportunities are often put on Twitter - so follow all the publications, editors etc you can. Check out social media for other trainee journo forums, twitter parties etc. Or just contact every editor of every publication you can think of offering your services! Don't forget the local newspapers. You'll stand more chance of getting work published on a local than a glossy mag or popular website.

Sorry if you already knew about all this stuff, but hopefully some of it was useful. Feel free to PM if you need any more advice. Good luck!