Talk

Advanced search

freelancer missing deadlines - anyone else guilty?

(5 Posts)
griselda101 Tue 19-May-15 21:55:39

i feel awful when I miss a deadline but I am a lone parent to a toddler and sometimes really struggle to keep up with everything. Sometimes my work gets really hectic.

sometimes I can miss a deadline by a couple of weeks! Most of the time it's just a few days. On other things I am always on top and great at keeping up straight away. I just find it difficult to do things in priority order (I am a creative professional and need the right headspace for certain projects, so often procrastinate to do the easy stuff instead).

That said if I am given a solid deadline I am usually pretty good at reaching it, it more tends to be my own deadlines that I fail to reach (e.g. tell client I will have something with them by X, then tell them several times over a few days that I am running a bit late).

I hope they will be understanding and generally they are but I still feel really bad about it. I usually explain that I am under a lot of pressure as a lone parent of a toddler and they seem to be ok. That doesn't change the sense of guilt I get about it! And the stress.

I wonder how much other professionals are like this and whether I'm not really that bad in comparison to others.

I know it looks unprofessional to miss deadlines but it's sometimes unavoidable for me due to my lone parenting and limited childcare status with a full on workload. I try to manage expectations at the beginning of a project but I am in the line of work where everyone wants everything ASAP, it's a very deadline driven role. I'm often up late into the night and work through the weekend but still never get on top of stuff.

Anyone else miss deadlines?? Please tell me I am not the only one...!!

MrsMargoLeadbetter Tue 19-May-15 22:48:22

Who sets your deadline? I know clients can push for earlier than you want....can you push back?