Talk

Advanced search

Basic self assessment questions

(5 Posts)
TremoloGreen Wed 12-Mar-14 13:54:28

Not sure if I should put this here or in money, but here goes...

I've just started working for myself, I'm a sole trader, haven't set up a limited company yet as I'm not expecting to earn that much for the first year. I've got two questions about self-assessment really:

1. I've started actually working as of this month, so 2013/2014 tax year. However, I don't expect I'll get any money actually paid until mid April, so 2014/2015 tax year. Which year do I need to declare the earnings by self-assessment? When I worked for them or when I actually received the money?

2. I've spent money on start-up costs, e.g. new laptop, office furniture between January and March, so 2013/2014 tax year. Can I do a self assessment claiming tax relief for these costs, even though I haven't earned any money as self-employed yet this tax year (well, subject to Q1 above!)

I'd quite like to avoid doing self-assessment this year if I can, because it's been quite a complicated year tax-wise: been on maternity, company went insolvent, rest of maternity pay paid by HMRC, employer error meant some tax was underpaid so been on a silly tax code... aarrgh!! I have registered as self-employed from March, so I guess I won't get away with doing nothing, but I may have to hire an accountant this year. Just sad that I am seeing all my earnings disappear on costs already!

riksti Wed 12-Mar-14 14:40:00

1. Your trade starts when you hold yourself out as trading. So when you advertise yourself as available that's when you've started a trade. In your case you did some work in March 2014 so you were definitely trading in 2013/14. It's irrelevant when you got paid.
2. Yes, pre-trading expenses are allowable, provided they are wholly and exclusively for the purposes of your trade. Therefore laptops etc are usually allowable.