Talk

Advanced search

E-news - do I allude to my 'break'?

(4 Posts)
MrsMargoLeadbetter Tue 11-Mar-14 23:25:33

Hi all

Looking for opinions if I may.

I started writing an monthly e-news about 2 years ago. It was a way of disciplining myself to write blog posts, as 4 of them would be used in the e-news.

It worked really well until I fell pregnant with DC2 and felt rough for 9 months! During this time I failed to send it out a couple of times. My last e-news was in May last year.

I am now back working and need to start it up again. I am not sure if I should allude to my break? I am not massively comfortable mentioning mat leave. Even as a freelancer I feel some people have switched off when I mentioned the pregnancy etc.

I didn't mention anything before I stopped work just in case something went wrong, it would bad enough telling people you know etc

I have had it redesigned a little so I could just say "The new look Margo e-news" and leave it at that?

Being realistic I doubt my c500 mailing list will have really noticed I have disappeared for a bit, so maybe I just ignore the gap and carry on as normal.

Thoughts pls?

TIA

PermaShattered Wed 12-Mar-14 07:57:36

Personally, I'd mention it ("back after maternity break and raring to go" type of thing - but it depends on what industry you're in. I think people like to see the human behind the newsletter - and if I read something like what I typed earlier, I'd think 'oh how lovely THAT's why she's been quiet....."

Just a thought!

CommsWhizz Wed 12-Mar-14 12:34:27

Hey Margo,

Hmmm I know why it's a tricky one as it's the blurring of home and work, isn't it?