Talk

Advanced search

Juggling advice please!!

(10 Posts)
indigogirl66 Sun 26-May-13 19:47:23

I am a self-employed therapist but not yet back at work. My business has kept going with the help of a virtual PA and a team of self-employed associates. I hoped to have 9 months off, but at 5 months it's reached the point where I really need to go back as cracks are starting to show - highlighted by increased complaints and decreased revenue sad

My OH is also self-employed/newly graduated/career changing so his work hours are ad hoc but mainly evenings, though longer term he hopes to have a day job. So we are a bit up in the air at the moment. I'm really struggling to fit in proper work around the baby's naps/feeds (EBF) housework etc. My aim initially is to work 'on' the business and try to win some new clients/contracts etc. rather than working 'in' the business.

Do you guys who have done it before have any tips for me about how to plan my time, keep my energy up (so I can get things done when lo goes to bed instead of collapsing on the sofa every night). Also wondering how it will go if I need to have a meeting during the day?

Am I trying to do too much? Maybe I should just get a job...?

motherinferior Sun 26-May-13 19:52:28

One word: childcare.

You can't work without it. Either you're doing it or your partner is doing it, but you can't work 'around' a baby. You can 'get a bit of work done' but you can't do real work IME.

I worked four days a week, freelance, from when both of mine were four months old, btw. I do know what I am talking about.

CairoPrankster Sun 26-May-13 19:53:26

This may sound obvious but have you considered a child minder for a few hours a day? or a couple of days a week?

I have been building a business for the last year and there is no way I could work with my LO under my feet.

Having said that he does go to bed by seven every night so I do still have just about enough energy to do some work.

motherinferior Sun 26-May-13 19:55:38