Talk

Advanced search

So I have the idea for my business, Now what?

(12 Posts)
TerrorNotSoFrightened Thu 18-Oct-12 00:29:54

I want to start my own entertainment company. Background of this is that my DF runs his own karaoke business, has done for 15 years and I have hosted nights for him, covering his holidays etc. I can sing and am confident on the mic getting a party atmosphere going.

I want to start a business doing disco/karaoke which would be the entertainment for birthdays, weddings also doing children's parties, I am a make up artist so could also do face painting for the children.

So, as I said in the OP, I have the idea but I have no clue how to go about it. My dad can help me with things like equipment, software, things like that, but he kind of fell into it and does a few nights in the same pubs every week so has no experience of marketing or advertising, he has an accountant whereas I'd be hoping to do my own if I could.

Can any of you help me as to where to begin, what do I need to do?
I really don't know where to start.

Also any creative ideas would be greatly welcome, what would you look for in an entertainment package for your wedding,30th, 40th?
Would you hire a disco/karaoke for a childs birthday party? What kind of 'extras' would get me your business?

Thanks to anyone who read this far, it was a bit longer than I intended.

HeathRobinson Thu 18-Oct-12 01:48:20

Ok, I'd design a website, print some flyers and cards/beermats.

Could you approach a few pubs and offer an evening's entertainment at an 'introductory rate' with a view to leaving your beermats around (if the pub's ok with that). Poster on the door, flyers on the bar. The idea being that you're after publicity for your company, more than repeat business from the pub, although might not be bad?

What about offering to run a karaoke event at school fairs - again for publicity? You could show off your face painting skills too.

TerrorNotSoFrightened Thu 18-Oct-12 02:14:27