Talk

Advanced search

Best free online shop set up?

(11 Posts)
GotMyGoat Fri 21-Sep-12 11:40:58

Hello,

I've just started a business selling pet supplies, profits are going to be tiny for the first year, so i'm hoping to sell on ebay at first, but would like to set up my own website so that once I have customers I can direct them to my website for future purchases etc.

I'm hoping to use paypal checkout in the first instance, and wont have many different items in the first year, so am hoping to get a free website, until I gather a bit more money.

Does anyone have any good ideas? I'm a real beginner, so want something that's easy to use, but still looks professional.

GraceVentura Fri 21-Sep-12 12:16:31

Shopify is supposed to be good, but I haven't used it myself.

GotMyGoat Fri 21-Sep-12 14:10:47

ooh thank you, will have a nose.

mum2mummarkets Fri 21-Sep-12 22:50:01

weebly

GotMyGoat Fri 21-Sep-12 23:40:12

Weebly looks much more like what I'm after, thank you.

DolomitesDonkey Sat 22-Sep-12 07:58:54

Look carefully at your figures. Make an Excel sheet showing projected sales and then calculate the paypal and eBay fees associated with these. Then whop off a load more in light of eBay rapidly going to shit and automatically awarding your buyer.

Now find an internet shop package (I'm sure I've seen free Wordpress ones), calculate this annual cost - likely to be a one-off with an upgrade in a few years.

Now find 3 merchant payment packages, yes, they might be 10 quid a month - however this might prove cheaper and lesser risk than eBay/paypal.

Now you've got your figures you'll know which option is best and at what point another option is financially advantageous.

aufaniae Sat 22-Sep-12 10:04:45

Useful thread thanks smile

GotMyGoat Sat 22-Sep-12 21:06:58