Talk

Advanced search

When to tell clients about maternity leave?

(4 Posts)
cyclingkaty Tue 18-Sep-12 11:32:42

Hi,

I'm a newbie to Mumsnet and a first time Mum to be! I'm 26+5 and baby is due in December, closer to Christmas than I'd like but hey ho!

I run my own web design business and have done for the last 6 years. I don't employ anyone and work from home, collaborating with other developers and designers when a project demands it.

I have a core set of clients that I work for regularly; I built their websites and I maintain them on an ad hoc send-updates-when-you-like basis. This works well for both parties. I've told some clients, whom I've worked with for years that I'm expecting in December but not all yet (but I intend to very soon!).

At what point did anyone else tell their clients? Were they understanding or did some leave?

I'm lucky this year has gone well and existing projects will be finished by the end of November, giving me a few weeks to rest and do final preparations for baby. I'm currently intending to be available for website maintenance work in December for existing clients as there won't be much and I can do it any time of the day.

I was intending to take this approach for existing clients in January/February/March when I'll be on maternity leave. Being self employed means I can't shut up shop for 6 months and turn off my phone and emails!!

I won't be working on new or large projects, only website updates. Does this sound crazy? My clients will leave me alone as much as possible, certainly for the first month or so.

Thanks, Katy

Mumofjz Tue 18-Sep-12 14:25:29

i would let them know in the next next month or so, give them chance to have a think if they needed anything changing/updating (which you wouldn't know about) and get back to you with it prior to you on "maternity" leave.

I think as long as they feel they would still have your support in place, they shouldn't have a need to feel they need to look elsewhere.