Talk

Advanced search

Coaching

(11 Posts)
PetiteRaleuse Wed 19-Oct-11 10:02:28

I used to be a language and management trainer and while doing that trained as a coach (it's not as different as you might think). I then left my company and moved to another part of France and now work in admin. I will be going back to work from maternity leave soon and want to use my last couple of months to set up a coaching "business" as a part time job for when I go back.

Why do it this way? I can't afford to not go back to work, and don't want to risk stopping work in order to not take off as a coach.

Do you think this is feasible? My coaching would be remote - by email and phone and although I'll do life coaching if asked my target clients would mainly be writers. At the beginning I wouldn't look for more than pocket money, but once I get established I'd like to reduce my office hours and my ultimate goal would of course be to stop the daily commute.

Would anyone like to give me an idea of whether you think this is reasonable?
I guess my first step would be setting up a website - could I do this using blogger or wordpress or would it not look good enough. I have zero cash, and am armed only with time, my knowledge and experience and the desire to make this work.

Thoughts anyone? Thanks

PetiteRaleuse Thu 20-Oct-11 12:12:44

Bump. Anyone?

internationalbeeboo Thu 20-Oct-11 13:56:04

Hello there, I may not be able to give you any help as such, but I know how valuable it is to bounce ideas around...I used to live in France, have just moved back to the UK and have gone through that "what skills can I use to make a living?" feeling...
What do you mean by coaching, ie, what's your pitch and who's your public?

Abra1d Thu 20-Oct-11 13:57:38

ANd if you're coaching writers, what are your qualifications? Have you written books yourself?

PetiteRaleuse Thu 20-Oct-11 14:38:33