Talk

Advanced search

looking at maybe opening a shop????

(18 Posts)
CherryMonster Wed 07-Sep-11 11:21:43

i am a jewellery designer, and would love to open my own shop but have no idea at all. anyone who can offer and tips and advice please?

TalkinPeace2 Wed 07-Sep-11 18:46:05

B&M - DONT
start on ebay / website / facebook

Saffra Thu 08-Sep-11 09:56:34

Agree with Talkinpeace - I would say online initially and only then go to B&M once you have developed your business/brand. But only when you know that your business can comfortably afford the fixed costs.

Have you looked at Not on the High Street and Etsy? These might be better than ebay for more beautifully crafted pieces. Customers are likely to be less price conscious and appreciate design.

mistlethrush Thu 08-Sep-11 09:59:12

Also say don't open a shop, at least at first. You could also consider doing parties - good before christmas - get 'host' to invite lots of friends to come and have a glass of wine and look at your jewelry - she benefits with discount or some free gifts from you.

CherryMonster Thu 08-Sep-11 11:45:39

thanks guys, i am looking at doing jewellery parties, and am trying to get my mate to hold one. have a website already, and not had any joy there, tried etsy, sold one piece on folksy and one set on ebay. not looked at not on the high street, but isnt that somewhere where i would have to make lots of pieces the same for them to sell?

mistlethrush Thu 08-Sep-11 11:49:39

CM - I would say that depends on the outlet you see - lots would be keen on individual items rather than lots the same. Look for up coming craft markets, christmas sales etc and try to get a table at them....

CherryMonster Thu 08-Sep-11 11:52:13

yeah am looking already, but there dont seem to be a lot round here. did a stall at my sons school fete in july, and sold a fair bit, but that was all recycled plastic jewellery, now i have branched into gemstones and silver i dont know if they would sell at school fetes.