Talk

Advanced search

Ditching Freelance To Retrain at 40?

(8 Posts)
plus30 Wed 17-Aug-11 22:04:27

I'm a freelance tv producer with two young children and am finding the industry increasingly family unfriendly and work harder and harder to come by. For the past year or so I've been contemplating retraining to do social work -have always had a yearing to do something a bit more worthy and at 40 I think it's now or never. If I went back to study now I could in theory still have another 20 year career. Have any of you brave ladies ever been in this position. And if so, how do you start. I'm guessing my local college is the first point of all call to see what's on offer course wise?
Perhaps it's just me but I'm feeling mildly depressed at the fact that I've still so much uncertainty about my professional future at this stage in my life. My husband has worked for the same company for 25 years, enjoys regular promotions and is happy as larry. I know the media encourages us to look upwards for inspiration when infact many of us should be looking downwards and taking time to be grateful for the things we've already got but it can feel like a bit of a challenge at times. Inspirational stories or thoughts that will make me feel better....anyone? x

Eviz Sat 20-Aug-11 20:44:39

Hello plus

Your post struck a chord with me. Have you thought about volunteering/shadowing in social work? I would imagine it's a very different environment to the one you've left/are contemplating leaving behind.

Am at a similar crossroads myself, but never settle on a new direction for longer than a week. I've been like this for years.. and I'm now totally stagnated.

Good luck!

hatwoman Wed 24-Aug-11 22:55:43