Talk

Advanced search

What can I doooooo?

(20 Posts)
Olympickney Thu 18-Nov-10 14:01:51

I NEED to set up something for myself. I'm so very sick of trudging into central London 8-7 5 days a week and answering to miserable old gits.

I don't really know what my skills are. I think I have good research skills. I like writing. I like using the internet. I'm interested in issues relatig to families, women, young people and children; politics; literature.

I was a music journalist and radio producer for 10 years.

I am also a qualified careers advisor, but post-qualification went into youth work and so never really got much experience of actually doing the job.

I just want to do something for ME. I don't mind hard work.

Talkinpeace Thu 18-Nov-10 17:38:00

Are you on Linkedin?
It could be very useful for you to drag up old colleagues and see what opportunities are out there.
What interests you?
Do you sell tat on ebay or equivalent - could you expand that.
Time to think laterally rather than reading a book on the tube....
Put together a bloke CV
(you know the ones that take credit for the whole team's work no matter how junior you were in it)
Could you afford to go part time / 4 days a week to give yourself breathing / thinking space?

Menagerie Sun 21-Nov-10 20:09:25

Talkinpeace, LOL at bloke CV.

Olympickney, you sound like you have a really good set of skills. Would you be interested in working with young people? You might be able to get funding to set up a recording studio as an outreach programme. Worth looking into local arts organisations for grants, hospital radio stations etc to see if you can borrow equipment.

Talkinpeace Sun 21-Nov-10 20:18:44

Menagerie
you know I'm not joking
seen and heard too many
when I worked in teams I learned to hide the crucial bit of the project workings so the cocky (in all senses) brigade could not do it to me.

Women are DIRE at taking credit for what they have achieved.