Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on fostering.

8 weeks till panel

(12 Posts)
Smith8450 Sun 28-Jan-18 09:06:13

Hi all! I'm a newbie to mumsnet. I've been searching the posts to see if people have similar feelings to me at this stage. The 'unknown' is all becoming a bit daunting and maybe I am looking too far ahead but I'd love to hear of peoples thoughts/feelings once they were approved at panel.
I'm mainly anxious about panel and how that will go. I feel confident we should be approved just a bit daunting.
Secondly how fostering will fit in with and affect my family. We have a 10 year old daughter and have requested 0-2 year olds short term.I have spoken to my SW about these thoughts but wuld appreciate some 'real life' experience from other carers.
I have, via a mutual friend, managed to arrange t meet up with another carer tmrw for a chat.
Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this and possibly answer x

fos6mo3 Sun 28-Jan-18 17:14:57

Hi firstly in answer to panel don't worry as most people who go to panel will be approved. The process is very expensive for la and ifa and generally if they think you wouldn't be approved they would have told you by now.

As for how fostering will affect your life that is hard to say you may get lucky and get a baby and one without withdrawal will be very similar to your own although you will have the extras of reports contact and social worker health visitor and other health care professionals in your life a lot more than with your own.