Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on fostering.

adopting a foster child

(19 Posts)
Candycoco Wed 17-Feb-16 16:02:56

Hi does anyone have any experience of this I've got a few questions I'd like to ask.

I've been fostering for a couple of years now and have a baby placed with me who I've had since birth who is 10 months old now.

They are looking at families for baby now, and I'd like to be considered as an adopter myself. I know id have to be assessed and approved etc. But ..

I am a single carer and as fostering is my job currently, does anyone know if I would be entitled to any kind of adoption allowance from the government or the fostering department. I know the LA pay money for some children but is this unlikely for a baby? Or would they pay it if it meant the baby had continuity of placement.

I only have one spare room where baby sleeps at the moment, would baby be allowed to share a room with my birth dd in the future to enable me to continue fostering?

Or if not, I would look at returning to work at some point but id like to know if there is any support available for the first year or so beyond child benefit and ctc as I have bills to pay obviously!

Thank you.

ImperialBlether Wed 17-Feb-16 16:07:23

I'm sending my sister a link to this, OP, as she's been in the same position.

Candycoco Wed 17-Feb-16 16:09:20

Thank you imperial, I appreciate that

steppemum Wed 17-Feb-16 16:18:07

I have a friend who has 2 children on long term foster placement. I asked her once about adoption, as she is going to have them until 18. She said that there was no money or support available if she adopted them, whereas all the while she fostered she was paid and had SS support available.
If she adopted she would need to return to work, and as one child has SN that kind of defeats the point.

It was quite eye opening to be honest.

Candycoco Wed 17-Feb-16 16:22:55