Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on fostering.

Could anyone talk to me about long term fostering?

(7 Posts)
carriebrody Thu 23-Jul-15 22:10:47

I am a total newbie to fostering though have a close relative who does short term fostering of babies/toddlers and moves them on to adoption. I am interested in becoming a foster carer too but older children and on a more permanenant/long term basis as I think this would be better for my own young children and general family stability. I don't think I could spend 6 months or a year looking after a baby and then give them up!
Is anyone doing a similar role?

Scramblebrain Thu 23-Jul-15 22:27:16

I've fostered long term and have had teenagers with me who have gone on to independence at 18. What would you like to know?

carriebrody Thu 23-Jul-15 22:43:17

Thanks for your response. Did you start off doing long term or did you do short term first? Are you with an LA or agency?

Gymbob Thu 23-Jul-15 23:14:07

Hi, I work for my LA, and have had my fdd for 10 years. started off doing respite, and wasn't long before we agreed to have our fdd until she grows up.

carriebrody Thu 23-Jul-15 23:21:23

How old was your fed when she moved in with you Gym, was the plan always for her to stay permanently?

Would anyone mind telling me what their day-to-day is like? Did you need to commit to taking a fc to a school a distance away or could they move to a closer school? Is there much contact with birth families? If you have birth children at home, particularly younger ones, how much did your lifestyle have to change?

Scramblebrain Fri 24-Jul-15 08:27:46