Talk

Advanced search

DH deploys for 7 months leaving me pregnant and coping with toddler!

(11 Posts)
kikitgoing Wed 29-Apr-09 16:57:56

Hi,

Im new to this message board, but just had to vent! DH is deploying in September leaving DD (aged 2yrs 3mnths at this time) and me with 3mnths to go to birth of new baby. Latest news is that Navy suspect he will not make it home from 'manoevres' for birth period.

I am seriously worried about how I organise a new baby into my toddlers life without sleep or the assistance of any significant other. Family assistance DH's side non existent... on my side - possible but patchy.

Any advice from those already done it and survived - are you still sane?

thanks

ilovemydogandMrObama Wed 29-Apr-09 17:01:54

Not in forces, but are there any military assistance groups?

DD is 3 in July, and DS is 14 months, so a fairly close gap. Found that I really needed help with cleaning, housework and on those days when I couldn't get out of the house, someone to take toddler out to playground/out for cake/to a friends house...

kikitgoing Wed 29-Apr-09 17:05:57

Did you find DD adjusted reasonably well to new baby? Im mostly concerned about how to juggle night feeds with toddler who is resolutely awake at 6 - 6.30am every day.

Good idea about getting people to take toddler out - maybe I can try and ask people to commit to a weekly time to help me get organised.

Saltire Wed 29-Apr-09 17:14:45

Homestart?
DH in RAF, not Navy and I ahve found them to be quite accomodating if they have to be. You could try SSAFFA, see what they have to say

ThePhantomPlopper Thu 30-Apr-09 11:27:33

Where is he deploying to?

My DH is deploying in September and we were planning to TTC just before he went, he asked his CO if he'd be able to make it home for the birth and he said they'd do whatever they could. Anyway we've decided not to try for another baby, but my point is, they do try to be accommodating when it comes to things like this.