Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Get a proper job!

(20 Posts)
MrsSnaplegs Mon 25-Jul-11 18:46:25

My dd (5) said to me tonight
Mummy would you like a real job, you know a proper job?
Me: what do you mean a proper job?
Her: well like a teacher or something
Me: you do know mummy has a proper job in the navy
Her: yes but all you do is work, if you were a teacher you could have fun
Me: well in the navy I am a sort of teacher
Her: yes but all you do is work
Mm I think this role reversal with DH as sahp clearly has her confused so much for me being a positive female role model!
So what do your kids think you or your DH/DW do in the military?

vintageteacups Mon 25-Jul-11 20:48:48

The kids thinks DH fixes the helicopters himself (he doesn't) and that when he goes on op tour, he's helping save the women and children from being treated unkindly - rose tinted I know but in essence, the uk forces are peace keepers more than anything else.

Mrssnaplegs - is there a 'take yur child to work day' your dd could go to - then she'd see how much fun you have.

MrsSnaplegs Mon 25-Jul-11 21:12:01

We live almost on top of my work so she comes in at least once a month I think she may be right though I do work too muchgrin

Scootergrrrl Mon 25-Jul-11 21:15:05

The DC think daddy tells people off (an unfortunate hangover from when they crashed into his office when he, as OC of a squadron, was giving a poor private the telling-off of his life) Cue me and two children backing out as quickly as possible....grin

TalcAndTurnips Mon 25-Jul-11 23:10:34

Good one MrsSnaplegs!

Although they're grown up, I expect the offspring would be hard-pushed to say what Dad does at work. It'd probably go along the lines of "something involving ships. And lots of phone calls about ship-type stuff, usually during dinner. Working very strange hours and disappearing off for months on end."

That'd be a pretty accurate summary, too.

OfflineFor30Years Tue 26-Jul-11 11:14:26