Talk

Advanced search

Frugal food tips....but be gentle with me!

(25 Posts)
bowbluebell Thu 25-Feb-10 19:19:34

Hello all,

Maternity leave is at an end (and I got a £400 electrician bill and a speeding fine yesterday...) so we are looking at ways of spending less money on our cooking and eating BUT still eat well (I absolutely cannot give up game pie or nice chocolate).

I'm a real beginner at being frugal with food but able to cook from scratch and will enthusiastically try any ideas you have for buying and eating more economically.

So far I've stopped shopping at Waitrose and made friends with our local butcher andfish van. I now do a monthly online shop for tins and other non-perishables and have bought lots and lots of lentils.

I know...I have a long way to go....please share anything that works for you, me and my bank account will love you for it!

nickytwotimes Thu 25-Feb-10 19:23:34

First thing to do is make a weekly menu planner. That cuts out any waste.

You are onto a winner if you can cook from scratch.

I find shopping weekly more efficient than monthly, but see what works for you.

Have you looked at the budget recipes on here?

Yzzil Thu 25-Feb-10 19:26:07

I'm a big fan of Riverford Organic veg boxes. Their roots and greens one in particular is great value. I find we eat less meat as the veg is so much nicer, we try to eat veggie at least twice a week and they have lots of yummy recipes on their website. When we do have meat it's a smallish piece with lots of veg to stretch it further or a stew with jacket potatoes.

Otherwise....make big batches of stuff and freeze, feed everyone the same thing (our toddler loves "grown up" food)and make soups and big lentil salads if you are eating lunch at home (or even for a lunchbox).

nickschick Thu 25-Feb-10 19:26:55

go to martin lewis money saving expert- theres loads of advice ad info on there.

hmm at game pie though.

nickytwotimes Thu 25-Feb-10 19:28:20