Talk

Advanced search

Those of you who cook regularly - do you sometimes feel some 'recipes' are just collations?

(35 Posts)
ks Sun 19-Jun-05 19:49:00

Message withdrawn

hoxtonchick Sun 19-Jun-05 19:50:34

river cafe easy is guilty of this too.

Twiglett Sun 19-Jun-05 19:50:57

there are people out there who can't do that though and others who need the inspiration

Alannah Sun 19-Jun-05 20:33:29

You are absolutely right ks. I am a trained chef and never use recipes because I have a good foundation in basic cooking. However, in my experience lots and lots of people need things spelled out for them. This is why delias how to cook series was one of the best selling cook books of all time.

Gobbledigook Sun 19-Jun-05 20:35:37

I'm with Twiglett - I've no time to think! I need a recipe I can follow and that is foolproof!

lilaclotus Sun 19-Jun-05 20:41:24

i had 6 years of cooking lessons in school and learned all the basics. nowadays i find experimental cooking very enjoyable. occasionally i do need a recipe though for 'tricky' things like cakes, which i never remember the measurements of.

moondog Sun 19-Jun-05 20:42:18

ks,I have ahuge collection of recipe books,but theyare primarily for pleasure and inspirationrather than hand holding.

As a keen cook,I 'know'what will and\won't\ work\\(agree\with\\you\re recipe\cards btw)

ks Mon 20-Jun-05 08:53:52

Message withdrawn

handlemecarefully Mon 20-Jun-05 09:09:53

I've never really felt that. I must follow recipes and don't have the confidence to make up my own - I suspect that the result would be bland and samey in my case. Some people seem to have culinary flair though.

I use Ainsley Harriott and Nigel Kennedy 'quick' recipes

suzywong Mon 20-Jun-05 09:14:00

quite right ks