Talk

Advanced search

making a diabetic cake.. please help if you can..

(9 Posts)
ByThePowerOfGreyskull Sat 24-Oct-09 12:36:47

am doing an 18th birthday cake
2 layers of regular cake
one layer of coeliac friendly cake (will buy gluten free flower)
and one layer of diabetic friendly cake.

I have asked if the diabetics coming would eat a small portion of regular cake but the customer has requested we make a diabetic cake.

now I have been guided that splenda is the solution but I have no experience of this at all...

can you help?

NotQuiteCockney Sat 24-Oct-09 12:45:47

Maybe one of these? I haven't tried them, but they are tried and tested recipes, and you can see other people's ratings/reviews ...

ByThePowerOfGreyskull Sat 24-Oct-09 16:49:16

thanks NQC but it is goign to need to be iced so it looks like another layer of the stacked cake

are there any diabetics in the house.. do you use splenda? or do you just avoid extra sugar

MissAnneElk Sat 24-Oct-09 16:56:16

Splenda is probably the best sweetener to use for cooking. Have a look on their website and it should give you a recipe with the quantity to use.

When you say you are doing a coeliac friendly layer - do you mean it will be just one layer in the cake? If yes, then that is really not coeliac friendly at all because the cross contamination will mean they can't eat it.

ProfessorLaytonIsMyZombieSlave Sat 24-Oct-09 17:01:48

Mmm, even tiny quantities of gluten are bad for coeliacs. Generally the whole house has to go gluten free or else the coeliac person needs a completely different set of chopping boards, utensils, everything.

Does this help on the Splenda?

ByThePowerOfGreyskull Sat 24-Oct-09 17:53:51