Talk

Advanced search

I've got a butternut squash and want to make some soup.....

(14 Posts)
ilovespinach Thu 01-Oct-09 10:48:07

Thinking of softening some onions in a little bit of butter, adding the squash and then some veg stock. Not sure though as I've never tried or cooked butternut squash before....Do you think I could add some pearl barley to it? I've also got some frozen herbs.....

If the soup doesn't work out, I'm just going to eat the nut bread )))

thanks

Blackduck Thu 01-Oct-09 10:49:53

I wouldn't add pearl barley....but thats because I would puree it. It is nicer if you can be bothered to roast the squash first and then add to the onions and some herbs (bit of chilli is nice if you like it spicy).

ADifferentMe Thu 01-Oct-09 10:53:29

Red chilis and coconut milk a nice addition - makes it even richer though.

JackBauer Thu 01-Oct-09 10:54:12

I roast ti first as well, with the skin on as that is edible and I can never be bothered to peel itgrin
Then sweat onions, add squash and stock for a bit and blend. Never add anything else.

ilovespinach Thu 01-Oct-09 10:54:20

am roasting some sweet pots for ds2 so I will chuck the squash in too ...thanks for the tip

overmydeadbody Thu 01-Oct-09 10:56:20

Don't put pearl barley in it if you are going to blend it, you'll have a glutinous mess.

I'd add some garlic with the onions and just peel and cube he squash and add it with nice stock or even just water and salt and pepper.

Yum.

overmydeadbody Thu 01-Oct-09 10:57:30

yes if the oven's on chuck it in!

Then you can just scoop the cooked flesh away from the skin and add to soup stock.

Sunshinemambo Thu 01-Oct-09 10:59:52

Cumin would be a nice addition too.

JulesJules Thu 01-Oct-09 11:02:16