Talk

Advanced search

You're going round to a friend's house for dinner. You're a brilliant cook. What would you like her to cook for you??

(30 Posts)
BiscuitStuffer Tue 22-Sep-09 15:16:12

All idease very welcome indeed!

Portofino Tue 22-Sep-09 15:17:17

Toad in the hole after all the discussion about it earlier!

TrinityRhino Tue 22-Sep-09 15:20:48

butternut squash risotto

or

salmon, steamed new pot and veg

or

chilli con carne, rice and garlic bread

but I'm a crap cook and really hungry so dont listen to me grin

abra1d Tue 22-Sep-09 15:21:27

Sorry, who's the brilliant cook: the hostess or the guest? If the former, I'd want an omelette or plate of pasta with some olive oil and parmesan. If the latter, I'd want something posh.

TheArmadillo Tue 22-Sep-09 15:23:38

something edible but not too great that it might steal my title as best cook blush grin

All in all I wouldn't really care as long as I could eat it.

colditz Tue 22-Sep-09 15:26:29

Fried egg, nice sausages and home cooked chips.

BunnyLebowski Tue 22-Sep-09 15:34:10

On my nights off from cooking DP makes me

28 day aged Rib eye steak with homemade pommes frites and diane sauce.

If I went to a friends house and got this I'd be frigging delighted (as long as the steak was very rare and not cooked to death as seems to be the norm for most people).

AMumInScotland Tue 22-Sep-09 15:35:23

So the brilliant cook is the guest here? I'd imagine (and it takes some imagining to think I'm a brilliant cook...) that she'd enjoy something simple and nicely cooked but not show-offy. Maybe a casserole with very fresh crusty bread?

BunnyLebowski Tue 22-Sep-09 15:37:30

Oooh I did a fantastic pork in cider with caramelised apples last night - DP was still raving about this morning leaving the house for work!

Let me know if you want the recipe!

sprogger Tue 22-Sep-09 15:38:03

Something my friend feels comfortable cooking so she's relaxed & unstressed!