Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Help! 5 yr old cookery class, recipe needs to be fast and easy.. ideas??

(13 Posts)
joster Tue 15-Sep-09 20:05:06

Your ideas please!
Have been pressganged volunteered for cookery in my son's Reception class - it is five children and I believe I have about 30 mins to measure, make and bake something that can be made in sufficient quantities for about 20 children to each take one, or a bit of something, home.

Oh, and I am on my own - no teacher with me etc, so also need to keep kids under control whilst making whatever it happens to be.

I am a reasonable cook for regular meals, but utterly hopeless at pudding type stuff, eg. cup cakes are a total no-no. I once made cup cakes and they were SO BAD looking that I said the children had done it on their own, even then, my husband said "god, they look dreadful".

liahgen Tue 15-Sep-09 20:06:13

does it have to be baked?

What about some truffles or similar?

liahgen Tue 15-Sep-09 20:08:34

happy face sandwich

cookielove Tue 15-Sep-09 20:08:39

biscuit cake - but will require alot of adult supervsion, as you need to melt butter although that could be done in the microwave

You could make mini pizzas and if you use something like english muffins it makes it easier as everyone has the same size or you could make your own dough which is always fun

joster Tue 15-Sep-09 20:08:42

You are right, strictly does not need to be baked. You mean truffles of the chocolate variety there??? Are these foolproofly easy?!

CybilLiberty Tue 15-Sep-09 20:10:10

If you ARE cooking something, take some activites for the children to do while they cook.

TheArmadillo Tue 15-Sep-09 20:10:54

basic biscuits - can't really go wrong with it and they cook in about 10 mins or less.

Basic recipe (makes about 30)

250g butter , softened
140g caster sugar
1 egg yolk
2 tsp vanilla extract
300g plain flour