Talk

Advanced search

Xmas pudding advice

(8 Posts)
minervaitalica Sat 29-Aug-09 14:49:02

OK, here's the thing. I want to surprise DH who loves Xmas pud, as we will be spending Xmas in Italy where we live. I have never made one, but I have got various recipes from the Good Food mag and I am a confident cook. I have some questions though:

- When should I start making it? Does it matter that it will still be rather warm in September/early Oct or will it spoil the pudding?
- I am a bit worried re: feeding with alcohol. How come it does not go mouldy if you keep adding liquid? Is there anything I should be aware of in this process?
- Can I steam it in the microwave? I do not have one of those special steaming devices
- Can I choose the fruit I put in? I am not too fond of candied peel (unless home made) or glace cherries, so can I substitute with prunes et al?
- Suet is unheard of here; what is a substitute I can use?

Help!

kreecherlivesupstairs Sun 30-Aug-09 10:33:56

Xmas pudding is what is wrong with the world IMHO! on the other hand, I do see that some people like it although can't understand why.
Suet is merely the fat surrounding the kidneys of beasts (not sure which species though), if you have enough italian, you could ask your friendly local butcher if you can have some. Alternatively, you must have a british food shop in Italia, either physically or online. I can recommend britfood.ch for mail order otherwise.

meltedmarsbars Sun 30-Aug-09 12:14:01

Xmas pud is gorgeous and we eat it more than once a year!!

The alcohol is a preservative.
Do you want me to post you some suet?
Prunes will be very medaeval but probably okay as long as not too many.
Can't advise on steaming a I don't have a mirowave.
Don't forget the coin wrapped in greaseproof paper!

xxxxBAMBOOxxxx Sun 30-Aug-09 12:38:19

When do you add the coin?

minervaitalica Sun 30-Aug-09 14:05:01