Talk

Advanced search

Knives for the home cook, what brand is good, and how much to spend?

(16 Posts)
JeMeSouviens Fri 07-Aug-09 17:06:20

I have a set of knives in a block which are years old. The tips have broken off the smaller ones, and the big one is no longer able to be sharpened.

I'm a competent cook, but more follow the recipe type, than make it up.

I think I'd prefer to buy them individually, then I can build them up over time.

What knife brands do you recommend and which knife types would you not be without in your set (eg serrated, fileting...)?

OhBling Fri 07-Aug-09 17:11:07

I am not sure about brands as I bought mine in south africa. But good knives are fabulous. If I had to have only one knive, I'd go for a general purpose knive with a straight edge - they can be used for delicate things if necessary and, in a pinch, you could use it for carving if you had to.

My second knive would be a largish chef's knife.

You will never regret investing in good knives! It has chanaged my life!

JeMeSouviens Fri 07-Aug-09 17:42:45

Thanks OhBling.

I've been doing some quick research and recommended brands are:

Wusthof
Henckels
Calphalon
Santoku (this might be a type of knife rather than brand, as it appears in the Wusthof range)
Messermeister

And list of types:

paring
bread
boning
chefs
carving
shears

Has anyone tried/got the above brands? I'm leaning towards a Wusthof Classic set at the moment.

Ithaca Fri 07-Aug-09 18:15:44

I have Henckels and they're great, chose them for similar reasons to yours, and these felt best in the hand to me (liked Global but not the handles). Bought 2 at first, a small (paring?) one and what they call a vegetable slicing one to use as general big knife, then bought the heavier chef's knife as the veg one wasn't quite enough for things like cutting a butternut squash in half. Still have old serrated knives as they're ok.

You need a good knife sharpener too to keep them in shape, we got one of these.