Talk

Advanced search

Chocolate fountain question, how much chocolate should I buy for it?

(7 Posts)
Overmydeadbody Mon 03-Aug-09 07:46:40

For a party, with about 25 people coming? I have never used one before and am helping my friend and we have one of these fountain thingies, thought it would be good to put it on and use it for once.

I know we could get the special chocolate for it but the instructions sa we can use normal chocolate bars, so would really appreciate some help with how much chocolate to buy and whether to add some veg oil to keep it running etc.

Thanks!

cositjustisok Mon 03-Aug-09 07:58:50

We use our chocolate fountain regularly but granted never for that amount of people. I am quite crap with quantities and always over supply. What i did want to say was the shop bought chocolate fountain chocolate I think works out really quite expensive and you would need quite a bit to make sure you dont run out if it (why i always over provide maybe).

I made up my mix and have changed it over the years... and it is always lovely. I tend to use a mix of fresh cream (or condensed milk or evaporated milk..all jsut as good really) and warm it up in a saucepan and add chocolate to it to you get a good running consistency. Probably a good idea to have some made up prior to the event for 25 people..you could warm it up in the microwave before putting in to the fountain.

Another good idea is to empty the fountain as soon as every one is finished as left to harden it would be a nightmare to clean....know this from experience.

good luck and enjoy the yumminess

Claire2301 Mon 03-Aug-09 08:00:07

Our one really doesn't require much chocolate, maybe the small (big bars- not the everyday ones the size up?) We've used it for four people with two of those and it was fine.

Have you got time to try it out beforehand just to see what it is like?

I do add a tiny bit of veg oil just to keep it smooth.

Have fun!

Overmydeadbody Mon 03-Aug-09 08:09:22

Thank you both!