Talk

Advanced search

How do you make a baby eat more in the day?

(11 Posts)
dcgc Wed 15-Jul-09 14:03:29

Hi, I'm pretty new to mumsnet and am also a first time mum. My son is now 15 weeks old (born at 8lbs 2oz)and is now a "sturdy" size! He eats well and up until just over a week ago slept really well too (put down at 7.00-7.30pm and generally going through until at least 3.00am/feed/back to sleep until 6.30am-7.00am. However, last week he started waking up between 2-4 times and would only go back down when fed (pretty much polishing off full bottles of between 180-210ml of formula). Initially I put it down to a growth spurt, but it has been going on now for about 8 nights. Last night he woke at 10.30pm for a feed (something he hasn't done since the first few weeks). My HV says I need to up his calories for the day, but since this all started he hasn't been finishing his bottles in the day, getting about 3/4 of the way through and then refusing to have any more. I feel I'm now getting into a reverse routine where he's getting most of his feeds at night and then snacking through the day and I don't know how to get out of it! Has anyone else experienced this? Is baby rice the answer to get him throught the night? How do you make a baby eat when they clearly have lost interest? Sorry to waffle on but the sleepless nights are becoming hard going after having been spoilt with only one "get up" a night for the last month. Thanks in advance.

lauralou123 Wed 15-Jul-09 14:37:07

I don't think you can 'make' him eat more as such. Is he finishing his night bottle because he is hungry or because it's in his mouth and he sucks it for comfort? Can you take it from him half way through?

If you think he might be ready for baby rice, then you could always give it a go. I know the current advice is six months but I don't know anyone who has waited until then, especially if he is a big baby.

nobodysfool Wed 15-Jul-09 14:41:18