Talk

Advanced search

Fussy toddler

(12 Posts)
snala Sat 27-Jun-09 23:00:16

Hey! this is my first time at this so go easy!!
Please help. My 17 month old lives on weetabix,yogurt,banana,orange,bread,darylea and wotsits.
Everything else gets thrown on the floor,im really starting to worry.

yousaidit Sat 27-Jun-09 23:06:32

toddlers, ah yes, the masters of manipulation grin

my dd was like this, so i just put her plate in front of her, if she arsed about and didn't eat it, i kept it till tea and gave her the same dish warmed up, with nothing else to eat in between. if it was unusable, eg she has smeared it n her head, then fair enough, nothing else to eat until tea and i gacve her what i wanted her to eat.

toddlers will eat when they are hungry, but oif you're feeding your dc what they want, then they'll learn pretty quick they sling what they don't want and then they get what they do. stick to yor guns and make sure there are no treats or snacks and you should see them eating a bit more. i did it with dd!

snala Sat 27-Jun-09 23:25:13

Its got to be worth a go,got number 2 on the way in August and could do without this! Thanks

StirlingTheStrong Sat 27-Jun-09 23:25:36

Agree with yousaidit - please just give them what you want them to eat and remove plate after a suitable time - dont offer anything else - they learn quick smile

yousaidit Sat 27-Jun-09 23:41:24

snala , you are in same position i was, i wanted to get dd to feed herself proper food as i was still feeding her when she was about 22months, so i had to take the hard line as i thought i can't be feeding baby and spooning food to her , this wold be ridiculous.

def get them sorted out before dc2 arrives so they don't equate hardline mum with arrival of baby, yoiu kow, avoiding all potention jealousy and all that grin

TheLadyEvenstar Sat 27-Jun-09 23:44:06