Talk

Advanced search

While it's sushi day on here, does anyone else make their own rolls?

(7 Posts)
MagNacarta Sat 20-Jun-09 18:29:15

I started recently and they are very easy and much loved by dd1, dh and myself - dd2 and ds won't even try. I'm not too good with filling varieties and tend to stick to californian or just plain old pepper/cucumber. Anyone else, any ideas for some other fillings?

slng Sat 20-Jun-09 18:50:42

We make rolls (even for DS1's packed lunch - yes it seems a bit poncy blush but after all it's only rice and cucumber and tinned fish). We do cucumber and tinned tuna or salmon fillings usually. We have also done nigiri-style at home, with smoked salmon trimmings squished higgledy-piggledy on top (when there is reduced-price smoked salmon trimmings in the supermarket.) Maybe DD2 and DS would try that? Some children don't seem to like the seaweed wrap - DS1 didn't use to.

Kathyis6incheshigh Sat 20-Jun-09 18:53:26

I have a fab book on how to make sushi which I was given by a Japanese friend - it's translated from Japanese into v bad English and is fully of kitschy ideas like panda sushi and sushi that looks like Battenberg cake.
They suggest spam as a filling for rolls....
Also sticks of sweet potato, which might be nicer!

Kathyis6incheshigh Sat 20-Jun-09 18:54:01

full of blush

MagNacarta Sat 20-Jun-09 19:03:43

hmm, do you know I can't believe it we're all out of spam this week grin. DH suggested cooked chicken, but it felt wrong somehow. Sweet potato is a good idea, will try. Daft as it may sound I'd forgotten about tuna blush dh isn't keen, but dd1 and I love it. DD has also taken sushi rolls to school, I think she likes the comments tbh.

slng Sat 20-Jun-09 19:25:23

I sometimes eat spam. blush Used to have them when I was little and sometimes have unreasonable cravings ... It would be wrong in sushi, I guess. But you could use ham though. I think that would probably be quite nice. And omelette would probably work as well.