Talk

Advanced search

Need help please with 2-tier birthday cake!

(8 Posts)
Geocentric Fri 19-Jun-09 12:08:20

DDs birthday is coming up and I want to do her a 2-tier birthday cake; I have never tried one before. I already have the baking trays but am wondering about the logistics.

I will be baking the cake the day before - do I store the layers in separate tupperwares and then put it all together with icing on the actual day, or can I put it all together the day before and stick it in the fridge? Will it all collapse overnight if I do that? WWYD?

(using buttercream icing, btw)

pigleychez Fri 19-Jun-09 14:02:35

Not a master baker or anything but personally I would store them seperately then decorate/assemble on the day.

Im sure DD will love it

Geocentric Fri 19-Jun-09 14:25:32

Thnaks, pigleychez - it does sound safer that way. More trouble on the day but less risk of it all going soggy and collapsing, I suppose.

I'll just have to add large round tupperwares to my shopping list, then!

PandaG Fri 19-Jun-09 14:27:57

do you mean 2 sponges stacked with buttercream in the middle?

if so, fine to do the day before, and no need to store in tyhe fridge either - in fact likely to go damp in the fridge.

Geocentric Fri 19-Jun-09 14:51:14

Panda, 1 larger sponge with filling underneath and one smaller sponge stacked on top, also with filling...

The fridge was really only if I iced it beforehand (being buttercream). I'm a little nervous about this as I've only ever done single layer cakes before, but have been dying to try one of these!

PandaG Fri 19-Jun-09 19:04:33

so you'll make 2 sponges, split them to fill and then stack? (or alternatively make 4 thinner cakes?)

will you cover the outside of the cake with icing? buttercream or sugarpaste?

I still think you could do it the day before, less hassle on the day. I never store buttercreamed cakes in the fridge, they are always ok - I have put in the cellar though on a really hot day!