Talk

Advanced search

My toddler won't chew his food

(7 Posts)
Kaja Tue 02-Jun-09 22:27:52

Hello - I'm brand new to Mumsnet, but joined specifically to get some advice on this...

My 21 month-old is turning into a REALLY fussy eater - he will only eat soft things that he can 'chew' with his tongue (not his teeth) and just won't try new foods. We're pretty much stuck on food appropriate for an 8 month old!

Does anyone have any advice?

mumblechum Tue 02-Jun-09 23:09:03

What is his language like? I only ask in case there's some underlying problem (very unlikely, but it may be worth checking out if his speech isn't clear.

If his speech is ok, then maybe the health visitor could advise?

Bumping for you anyway

Dalrymps Tue 02-Jun-09 23:28:56

I have a similar problem with my 19 month old ds. He has always been fussy since day one, bf, ff and now food. We only got him to eat lumpy jars about 2 months ago. He will eat some finger foods but tiny amounts. He will eat smooth puddings,cake, mashed potato. We have started giving him more 'proper meals' and less jars on the advice of his dietician (he has weight gain prob) and he just nibbles tiny bits or shoves it in, chews it (with his only 4 teeth) then spits it out again. He probably swallows one mouthful in 10 with the help of a drink unless he's having an unusually good day.

He is not really interested in food full stop. Tonight I took his tea away and didn't offer him anything else, I can't do this all the time though, he has to have the calories! He had only eaten a few peas (most pea skins spat back out) and one mouthful of mashed potato.

We can give him jars which he accepts mostly but he has to play with toys/a book to distract him whilst we feed him or we get nowhere.

He's due to see a speech and language therapist soon so maybe she can help. He saw one a few months ago and she said she thought he was just more sensitive to textures/tastes than other babies.