Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

planning dinner party, suggestions welcomed.

(31 Posts)
norksinmywaistband Tue 06-Jan-09 18:37:29

Planning my first dinner party in about 2 years( NY resolution 6 friends meet once a month each cooks 2x during the year)
I am first, so all recipes are ok as nothing to avoid from previous dinner parties.

One guest does not eat fish

I am a competant cook, and would like to ry one dish I haven't done before....

ilovelovemydog Tue 06-Jan-09 18:42:17

quick fry scallops - (4 per person)

serve with thai sweet chilli sauce and creme fraiche and salad...

(do a quorn thing for non fish eating guest?)

FiveGoMadInDorset Tue 06-Jan-09 18:42:59

Delia Smiths Chocolate Bread and butter pudding is a good winter warmer

possibly lamb shanks

garlic king prawns with some nice crusty bread

snickersnack Tue 06-Jan-09 18:43:27

Baked camembert.

Blackberries in muscat jelly.

Can post recipes later if you're interested in either.

FiveGoMadInDorset Tue 06-Jan-09 18:45:13

or mushrooms cooked in cream , garlic and a touch of wrocestershire sauce also with crusty bread.

Or a to share starter, get a couple of camembert in the wooden boxes, take of all warpping and put back in the box, stick some rosemary in and possibly garlic and bake until gooey.

Stuffed flat mushrooms.

Rack of lamb with a herb crust

norksinmywaistband Tue 06-Jan-09 18:47:08

Liking the rack of lamb idea.

Forgot to say DH is teetotal, and doesn't like alcohol in food either

FairLadyRantALot Tue 06-Jan-09 19:05:05

how about for starters:
these lovely goatscheese and tomatoe tarts

Fillet with pepper stuffing for mains

pecan pie for dessert

PandaG Tue 06-Jan-09 19:08:01

nigella's lamb tagine with pomegranate - made it for NYD and was lovely, and very easy. I like the fact you can make ahead and reheat so less faff on the day.

great NY resolution btw! smile

norksinmywaistband Tue 06-Jan-09 19:23:03