Talk

Advanced search

Ideas for an impressive but easy starter for fussy FIL please!!!

(19 Posts)
JolieGirl Wed 29-Oct-08 12:31:36

FIL coming for dinner Saturday night and I am struggling for inspiration. He is used to fine dining and eats extremely lavishly, and can be very critical when any food that passses his lips is not up to scratch!! It's his first time here for a meal and I'd really like it to go well as I do get on extremely well with him - not out to dazzle with haute cuisine, but I am a reasonable cook and I'd love any ideas for a starter. Main course will be sea bass. Limitations are that he does not eat cheese, pasta or tomatoes. Over to you...!!

catrin Wed 29-Oct-08 15:37:51

Soup - maybe something like Jerusalm artichoke (with drizzle of truffle oil if flush)

ouefs en cocotte (which i believe to be baked eggs with cream)

or don't do starter, do posh nibbly bits like blinis with smoked salmon and pretend caviar

rislip Wed 29-Oct-08 15:37:56

I always do Jamies warm squash salad for starters. Easy, looks nice and is tasty. Parma ham, roasted butternut squash, rocket and parmesan. I've got the recipe if you would like.

Tillyscoutsmum Wed 29-Oct-08 15:47:18

Have been having a think and can't believe how many of the starters I do include cheese blush

How about chicken liver parfait with brioche toasts

Or seared scallops with lemon chilli butter (too much fish ?)

Or a risotto ? (mushroom perhaps)

Or Asparagus with lemon breadcrumbs and poached egg

Let me know if you want the recipes to any

Tillyscoutsmum Wed 29-Oct-08 15:49:00

Caramelised onion tart (or tartlets) is another one which goes down well and can be done in advance

rislip Wed 29-Oct-08 15:50:19

Oh sorry, I didn't read the bit about cheese.

SquiffyHock Wed 29-Oct-08 15:51:12

I would second chicken liver parfait as it's nice to do in advance.

Beef carpaccio with horseradish cream, parmesan and rocket is lovely (can also be changed into capapes by putting onto toasted bread)