Talk

Advanced search

Indian Curry recipe

(10 Posts)
bumbleb33s Mon 17-Aug-20 16:20:11

I'm going to be hosting a family meal in a few weeks and I'd love to do a couple of curry's, we all love them and it's my favourite food, also great to pre-cook and just help ourselves and not have to stand in the kitchen all evening.

I'm told I'm a good cook but I have NEVER mastered a curry from scratch and I'd love to be able to.

Are there any successful curry makers here that can give me some good tips

thanks

OP’s posts: |
karmakameleon Mon 17-Aug-20 18:21:04

My two top tips are always brown your onions (they need to be a shade away from burnt) and use plenty of salt. Meer Sodha’s recipes are reliable and her basic chicken curry recipe is straight forward and delicious.

meerasodha.com/what-my-mother-taught-me/

cdtaylornats Mon 17-Aug-20 22:04:42

The Hairy Bikers Great Curries

I've cooked a fair number of recipies from this book. Some of the non-Indian curries are really good.

GrumpyHoonMain Mon 17-Aug-20 22:06:40

Go to an Indian recipe site - vegrecipesofindia is good for proper traditional home style curries, while heber’s kitchen is better at everything else.

bumbleb33s Mon 17-Aug-20 22:27:25

Thanks everyone, I’ll try these before the event to test them out smile

OP’s posts: |
thisstooshallpass Tue 18-Aug-20 17:18:51

Jamie Oliver has a list of recipes for curry pastes. Check his website.

My favourite Indian cook/chef is Maunika Gowarden. She is on Instagram and has a great website. Her butter chicken is foolproof and amazing. Well worth the effort.

YetAnotherSpartacus Wed 19-Aug-20 10:02:49

Don't use old spices. I roast and grind my own. Agree with the statement re onions too.

BringBackDoves Wed 19-Aug-20 10:10:42

karmakameleon

My two top tips are always brown your onions (they need to be a shade away from burnt) and use plenty of salt. Meer Sodha’s recipes are reliable and her basic chicken curry recipe is straight forward and delicious.