Talk

Advanced search

What would add flavour to this?

(22 Posts)
MeredithGrey1 Mon 12-Aug-19 19:44:30

I found a new recipe online for a pasta sauce made from butternut squash. It’s a bit of red onion, garlic and butternut squash cooked with chicken stock, sage and thyme, then put in the food processor with a bit of milk to make a smooth sauce. I also then added a bit of bacon and served with pasta and a handful of spinach.
Perhaps it just needs more onion or garlic but it was a bit tasteless, but definitely had potential as it was a lovely creamy sauce. What could I add to make it tastier? Maybe mushrooms fried with the bacon at the end perhaps? I’m a relatively good cook but only from recipes, I’m not very good at coming up with additions/changes to recipes.

Peanutbuttericecream Mon 12-Aug-19 19:47:14

More onion, a fresh red chilli, some grated ginger salt and black pepper. Mushrooms won't add much in the way of flavour.

MeredithGrey1 Mon 12-Aug-19 19:48:57

Ooh chilli that’s a good idea! Will definitely try that, thanks.

moreismore Mon 12-Aug-19 19:51:47

I would add more onion and garlic and take time (if you didn’t already, sorry!) to really let them caremelise at the start too.

moreismore Mon 12-Aug-19 19:52:45

Maybe also reduce for a while after you add the stock (and be sure to use best quality stock you can)

RemusLupinsBiggestGroupie Mon 12-Aug-19 19:53:18

Chilli flakes
Mushrooms sound good too and would give it more texture

PrincessSarene Mon 12-Aug-19 19:58:45

Salt? I’ve found with a few things that if they taste a bit “flat” but I can’t put my finger on what’s missing, then usually a decent pinch of salt will really help.

RockingMyFiftiesNot Mon 12-Aug-19 20:16:34

Another vote for chillii. I also think cumin goes well with butternut squash. Roasting the squash first would also intensify the flavour, but is a bit more faff.

MoMandaS Mon 12-Aug-19 20:20:10

Lemon or lime juice.

LadyMonicaBaddingham Mon 12-Aug-19 20:21:29