Advanced search

Things you never knew were vegetarian?

(49 Posts)
cricketmum84 Mon 22-Apr-19 20:00:29

Inspired by a Facebook post I saw today.

I'm a new vegetarian - thought about it for ages and finally made the decision last week. And I'm surprised by all the things I'm finding out are vegetarian! My shockers so far are:

Lidl's budget cheddar cheese
Smiths bacon fries!!!
Chicken pot noodle (not that I would eat one but still surprised!)

What else am I missing out on Cos I don't know it's veggie friendly?

OP’s posts: |
EvaHarknessRose Mon 22-Apr-19 20:01:50

Bisto original gravy granules in the red box.

MistakenHoliday Mon 22-Apr-19 20:07:38

The beef and tomato pot noodle is veggie too, but sadly Vesta chow mein (aka hangover food of the gods) is not sad

hugoagogo Mon 22-Apr-19 20:12:25

I am surprised you're surprised about the cheese, it's usually the fancy cheese you have to watch out for.
Lot's of ready made jellies and trifles are now vegetarian, which is great.

TrixieFranklin Mon 22-Apr-19 20:13:08

The bacon bits at Pizza Huts salad bar

PurpleDaisies Mon 22-Apr-19 20:14:14

Ate you veggie or vegan? Most cheese is vegetarian.

Nydj Mon 22-Apr-19 20:17:04

Tunnocks tea cakes are vegetarian which is nice surprise as most marshmallows are not vegetarian

CaptainMyCaptain Mon 22-Apr-19 20:18:31

Cheese isn't strictly vegetarian if it is made with rennet.

cricketmum84 Mon 22-Apr-19 20:22:29

Re the cheese thing - I remember when I was a teenager and vegetarian it was really hard to find cheese that wasn't made using rennet. It was 20 years ago though so I imagine everything has changed now. I was geared up for it to be quite difficult to find!

OP’s posts: |
Heyha Mon 22-Apr-19 20:31:24

Most meat-flavoured crisps are, I know cheese and onion never used to be because of the rennet but I wonder if that process has changed like a lot of actual cheese is now rennet-free. I guess there must be an easier and/or cheaper way of doing it now?

FusionChefGeoff Mon 22-Apr-19 20:38:58

You need a parallel thread, mind, things that ARENT veggie that should be.

Friend is vegan and was mock horrified that a (can't remember brand, sorry) pack of Paprika flavoured crisps had pork seasoning in envy

cdtaylornats Tue 23-Apr-19 07:18:46


LarryGreysonsDoor Tue 23-Apr-19 07:22:04

Cheese isn't strictly vegetarian if it is made with rennet.

No. But hardly any regular cheese is made with rennet these days.

The only ones to watch out for are the hard Italian cheeses and fancy cheeses from your local farm shop.

hugoagogo Tue 23-Apr-19 07:33:58

Oh I remember the days when it was hard to buy cheese that was vegetarian and the vegetarian stuff was weird and stuck to your teeth. confused
Not to mention animal and fish oils in cakes and biscuits, gelatine in sauces and yogurts.

In the category of foods that should be vegetarian, but often aren't would be chips! Why would you cook them lard? Bleugh and pesto; I am very distrustful of pesto on menus.

Eminybob Tue 23-Apr-19 07:50:07

I was briefly veggie in the 90’s so remember that horrid vegetarian cheese. I didn’t realise most is veggie now either.
I’m no longer veggie but eat vegan once a week and am surprised at how many things aren’t vegan. So many things have milk powder in, even a basic tinned vegetable soup is rarely suitable.

EssentialHummus Tue 23-Apr-19 08:06:40

I came on to say bacon fries! I'm Jewish rather than vegetarian though grin

FamilyOfAliens Tue 23-Apr-19 08:12:24

No. But hardly any regular cheese is made with rennet these days.

Most French cheese isn’t suitable for vegetarians and with some non-UK cheeses, it depends where you shop. Tesco Manchego is suitable for vegetarians, for example, but Waitrose’s isn’t.

The Montagnolo Affine (the best cheese in the world) in my local farm shop is suitable for vegetarians.

FamilyOfAliens Tue 23-Apr-19 08:14:11

Tesco, Sainsbury’s and Waitrose all sell a hard Italian cheese that’s suitable for vegetarians and a great substitute for Parmesan and Pecorino.

Bluelonerose Tue 23-Apr-19 08:23:33

Hold up
Cheese isn't suitable for vegetarians shock that's shocked me.

Can't remember now if it's vegan or vegetarian but I no our local pub has vegan/vegetarian straws confused

PurpleDaisies Tue 23-Apr-19 08:30:21

Cheese isn't suitable for vegetarians

No. The vast majority is.

Haribo and most marshmallows aren’t suitable for vegetarians.

NakedAvenger Tue 23-Apr-19 08:42:32

Beef Monster Munch

Teddybear45 Tue 23-Apr-19 08:44:14

90 percent of all ‘meat’ stocks and gravies bought from the supermarket are vegetarian too.

ElizabethMainwaring Tue 23-Apr-19 08:45:30

Bovril is definitely not vegetarian. It was briefly during the BSE crisis but it is now back to being made with beef. This has been the case for about 8 years.

SaskiaRembrandt Tue 23-Apr-19 08:49:56


NakedAvenger Tue 23-Apr-19 08:53:40

Whaaat? My mother was just proudly displaying her meatless bovril (she's veggie) which means that she's had it in the cupboard for about 8 years (not unlikely)...

Join the discussion

Registering is free, quick, and means you can join in the discussion, watch threads, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Get started »