Talk

Advanced search

Are These Mushrooms Ok To Eat ?

(20 Posts)
LetsGoMushroomingAgain Mon 15-Oct-18 21:15:41

DP & I went for a walk yesterday & picked these mushrooms along the way. I’ve googled to make sure they are safe to eat but I’m still unsure . Any foraging experts that think they aren’t going to kill us ?

OP’s posts: |
PippilottaLongstocking Mon 15-Oct-18 21:18:37

Never never eat muchrooms that you’ve picked unless you’ve had them looked at and confirmed edible by an expert (in France you used to be able to have them checked in chemists, not sure f you still can)

MrsVoleTheVet Mon 15-Oct-18 21:18:54

Um, no... im not a foraging expert, but I could have lied and said that I was... im not sure random internet strangers are going to be of much use here...confused

SinisterClownWatchingYou Mon 15-Oct-18 21:20:22

Throw them away. If you're lucky they'll just give you awful diarrhoea, if not they'll kill you. Liver failure is an awful way to go.

TeaAndNoSympathy Mon 15-Oct-18 21:21:45

God, if you’re not absolutely sure they’re safe why would you eat them? If they’re toxic you’ll be very ill indeed. Do the sensible thing and throw them away.

PippilottaLongstocking Mon 15-Oct-18 21:22:10

My rule is not even to touch fungi unless I’m 100% sure what it is. Which mostly limits me to puffballs and some shaggy ink caps (sometimes they look too similar to magpie Inkscape which are poisonous so I don’t risk it)

Verbena87 Mon 15-Oct-18 21:23:43

Don’t risk it. I eat quite a bit of foraged stuff but never fungi. Even experts slip up sometimes and the wrong mushroom can put you on dialysis for life.

MaverickSnoopy Mon 15-Oct-18 21:27:19

Sorry. I don't usually post negative comments (but I see what I'm saying as positive and constructive feedback in this case). DO NOT EAT THESE. KINDLY, YOU WOULD BE INSANE TO CONSIDER IT.

CherryValance Mon 15-Oct-18 21:36:18