Talk

Advanced search

Your favourite curry recipes for a complete novice

(11 Posts)
drivinmecrazy Sun 25-Mar-18 15:15:49

I'm a complete novice when it comes to cooking Indian food but would love to give it a good attempt.
What are your favourite curry recipes?
I'm completely open to meat, fish or vegetable dishes.
I've been perusing the interweb but am lost in a sea of recipes with no idea where to start.
I'm particularly looking for recipes made completely from scratch, time isn't an issue.

OP’s posts: |
Cornishblues Sun 25-Mar-18 17:03:15

This is my current go-to: you can have it as soup or with rice, you can add veg and a can of beans. www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2017/nov/25/lentil-recipes-curried-coconut-soup-aubergine-stew-sweet-potato-croquettes-fritters-yotam-ottolenghi

Cornishblues Sun 25-Mar-18 17:04:51

(Was referring to the lentil and coconut soup on that link).

leghairdontcare Sun 25-Mar-18 17:04:56

If it's ok, I'll check in as I like Indian food but not really takeaway and can't make it well enough for it to be worth while.

karmakameleon Sun 25-Mar-18 22:10:48

This is my favourite chicken curry and dead easy too.

meerasodha.com/what-my-mother-taught-me/

karmakameleon Sun 25-Mar-18 22:12:02

All her recipes are pretty good so if you like it may be worth getting her books.

karmakameleon Sun 25-Mar-18 22:17:48

And this aubergine curry is my 5 yr old's favourite.

meerasodha.com/gujarat-part-2-gujarat/

viques Sun 25-Mar-18 22:22:58

Someone gave me Chetna's ( her off master chef a couple of years ago) book, called Chai Chaat and Chutney. I have done a couple of her recipes and they worked out well and were easy.

The spiced fish was fabulous actually.

Weedsnseeds1 Tue 27-Mar-18 14:16:36

Cooking like mummyji has some nice, easy Indian home cooking recipes.

kateandme Wed 28-Mar-18 13:41:26

hairy bikers salmon curry is good.
nadiya has some lovely ones.
madhurs chicken tikka curry.
rick steins butter chicken