Talk

Advanced search

Cake recipe calls for food processor but I don't have one?!

(14 Posts)
LiquoriceWheel Mon 17-Jul-17 12:47:28

I've just purchased a beautiful stand mixer but lots of beginner cake recipes seem to call for food processors a lot.

Can I still use my stand mixer? When the recipe says to 'pulse' ingredients can I just turn the mixer on and off or will this wreck the 'anatomy' of the cake? Please advise me, master bakers! cakecakecake

OP’s posts: |
MrsOverTheRoad Mon 17-Jul-17 14:52:20

I just use a wooden spoon or whisk and always have! I've been making cakes for 30 years and never used a food processor.

What recipe are you looking at at the moment?

StylishDuck Mon 17-Jul-17 14:54:04

I've never used a food processor for cakes. Either hand mix or use an electric whisk. I'm jealous of your stand mixer. As soon as I have a kitchen big enough I'm buying one.

PickAChew Mon 17-Jul-17 14:54:44

If it's flour and butter or similar, then it probably just needs rubbing in.

www.bbc.co.uk/food/techniques/rubbing_in

Ameliablue Mon 17-Jul-17 14:55:05

What are you trying to make?

Honkyzeke Mon 17-Jul-17 15:03:18

Always just use my stand mixer for cakes, never needed a food processor for cakes not really sure why you would. What particular recipe are you looking at?

LiquoriceWheel Tue 18-Jul-17 09:39:11

Thanks for the replies. I'm making a banana cake. I'll be using a blender to purée the bananas.

OP’s posts: |
Eminybob Tue 18-Jul-17 09:44:56

I find that the more the bananas are mashed/puréed, the heavier the cake is.
I chop the bananas into tiny dice rather than mash, it makes for a much lighter cake.

Eminybob Tue 18-Jul-17 09:45:40

Oh and I just hand mix with a wooden spoon.

pengymum Tue 18-Jul-17 09:59:01